One of the most difficult times you can face is when the Illinois Secretary of State makes the decision to suspend or revoke your driver’s license. It can happen because of traffic violations, unpaid tickets, or even failure to make child support payments.
While a suspension has an end date, having your license revoked usually means you will never get it back. When that happens, it is important to get an IL hardship driver’s license.
What’s a Hardship License?
An Illinois hardship drivers license grants you the ability to drive to certain locations at predetermined times. Usually this means getting to and from work, getting to and from doctor’s appointments, and taking care of loved ones that need your assistance.
A hardship license, also known as a restricted driving permit, lets you continue on with your life, even though you have been restricted by the Secretary of State. However, there is a limit on the number of miles, days, and times that you can drive. Also, you do not automatically qualify for a hardship license if you have had your license suspended. There is an application process, and certain requirements that you must fulfill.
If you are looking to begin hardship license
The Application Process
To begin with, there are several requirements that you must fulfill to even be considered for a hardship license. These include:
- At least 16 years old
- Proof of medical evaluation and treatment
- Attending a hearing with a public officer
- Proof that you are not a danger to the public
- Proof of hardship
- A $50 fee
- Does not have multiple offenses for the Statutory Summary Suspension process
If you meet these requirements, you can file for a hardship license with the Illinois Secretary of State. Once you have, you will be requested to attend a hearing. It is here that you will need to establish that you are in need of a hardship license, and where a law firm will help you the most. You can request a formal, or informal hearing based on your preference, and you should expect the results of your hearing within 90 days. Also keep in mind that it could take several weeks, usually more than 15, to get your hardship license.
If for some reason your application has been denied, you can apply for another hearing within 90 days from your previous hearing date. If you had an informal hearing, you can have another one after 30 days. One reason why your application can be denied is because of multiple DUI offenses. Another could be multiple denials of taking a chemical test.
Finding an accomplished attorney can help you during the process of trying to obtain a hardship license in the state of Illinois. Having a suspended or revoked license can put a lot of stress on your life, make sure you are doing what you can to get your life back together as quickly as possible.